The Blog at Lauren Corbyn Interiors

I’m in Love with Lonny

Posted in Bloggity by laurencorbyn on October 1, 2009

Picture 15

I’ve realized that the absence of Domino left me a little shaken.  A little less confident.  Yes, there are still lots of design publications, lots of inspiration to flip through, but so much of it is simply that: inspiration, somewhat unattainable and overly stylized.  I’m in the profession of decor, and even I feel like a lot of the images I see in magazines are lofty…or ridiculous.  Domino, even when it showed crazy expensive pieces of furniture, seemed more attainable.  I think it was the sense of personalization.  So frequently in the pages it seemed like a REAL person had created a home, not just decorated a house.  A person created a look through all their personal weirdness and idiosyncrasies. One style wasn’t applied in one fell swoop.  As a decorator, I found that inspiring.  I believe in personal, somewhat quirky, design.

At first glance, it seems that Michelle Adams and Patrick Cline do as well.  Obviously, Michelle is from Domino stock, and that’s a good thing.  Domino had a crazy following but lacked the funds to support itself.  I think these Lonny kids just might be on to something by publishing online.  Bloggers have been behind them pre-launch.  I’m hoping everyone else is feeling as positive as I am.  I haven’t read every word yet, but I think these Lonny-makers are a creative, driven bunch.  There are indeed ads (in addition to clickable articles and images), and I hope those companies emptied their pockets, or at least signed on for multiple issues.

Last, but certainly not least Patrick Cline’s images are BEAUTIFUL.  Nuff said.

I wish Lonny all the success in the world.  I can’t imagine the time and effort that went into this project.  I’m so excited to see what comes next.

P.S. It’s 195 pages!!!!

Leave a Reply

