The Blog at Lauren Corbyn Interiors

All Over the Map Fabric Inspiration

Posted in Bloggity by laurencorbyn on December 8, 2009

Took a trip over to Brunschwig and Fils today (a virtual trip) and found these lovelies.  There’s no rhyme or reason to my selections.  Just what moved me at the moment.

Do you have a project coming up? Did you know that I can purchase any designer fabric on your behalf?  Just one of the many services offered over here at Lauren Corbyn Interiors! Come on, put my searching skills to good use!  Maybe you’d like to make a pelmet box for your windows? Or a new duvet or curtains?  Even if you can’t afford a designer, you can still get designer fabric.

A little inspriation:

This is not really my everyday, usual style, but there’s something about this that I really really like.

Loooove the watery, muted graphic quality of this one.

No surprises here.

This one is intense and maybe too much.  I just enjoyed the traditional design with kind of cranked up colors.  I like the deep orange and pink combo.  I wouldn’t likely use it in a traditional setting though.  At least that’s my first thought.

Why yes that IS shiny, embossed leather.  The color is listed as black, but I’m hoping it’s more of a gunmetal cause that’s just cool.

Back to the sweet and dainty.  The shots of chartreuse keep it from being too sweet though, don’t you think?

A little more chartreuse for you.  I thought the texture combined with the bright color was nice.  Pairing this with the previous one would help those sweet little birds pop. Adding a touch of blue or pink would continue the modern tradition with a twist feeling a la Celerie Kemble.

Chevron+greige = yes, please.

I just thought this was kind of nice.  Nothing crazy or extraordinary, just nice and pretty.  I’d like to mix it up with something a little more wild.

Merry Suzani Peppermint Christmas.  I do like it though.

This almost has a southwest color story, however it’s called Pompeiian red and gold.  I might have been swayed by the name.

Interesting pattern (I zoomed in so you could see the detail).  Feels very deep sea or hydrangea-like to me.

I do NOT know what to think about this one!  Is it fugly?  Or just dark and gritty-cool?

It’s a little art deco meets the seventies, but I like it.  I’ve got this new obsession with bed drapery (where there’s a corona above your headboard, attached to the wall or ceiling and drapery flows down on either side and behind the bed).  I want to reclaim what so many designers have done wrong by using modern (or simply VERY COOL) fabrics.  I like the idea of using contrasting fabrics to line the inside of the drapes, which create a lush, cocoon-ish feeling.  The above fabric seems really sleepy/cozy to me.  Perfect for sweet dreams.

Toned down and lovely. A great example of tradition with a twist.

So there you go.  Today’s random, all-over-the-map inspiration.  And on that note, if you’re in Oklahoma City, and haven’t voted yes to MAPS yet today, get going!

Leave a Reply

