The Blog at Lauren Corbyn Interiors

Design Inspiration

Posted in Bloggity by laurencorbyn on January 4, 2010

So in the back of my mind for the past twenty four hours, I’ve had a fabulous blog post blossoming.  Full of inspiration and enthusiasm.  But here’s the rub: I can’t find any images to share!  The below images were swiped from youtube.  All apologies on that one.

Yesterday I saw Sherlock Holmes and I’m totally smitten.  Yes, Robert Downy Jr. totally does it for me, and Jude Law ain’t too shabby either, but what really had me going was the art direction and set design!  Every detail was thought out and beautiful in a dark and gritty kind of way (Hey, this is a blog that extols black walls.  We’re not all flowery and fluffy around here).

Production design was headed up by Sarah Greenwood, set decoration by Katie Spencer (who also did Miss Pettigrew Lives for a Day and Atonement–movies in which the sets definitely made me take notice).  Art Direction by James Foster, Nick Gottschalk, Matthew Gray and Niall Moroney.  I so wish these people had websites with portfolios.  I’m fascinated.

Here the few lame-o images I could swipe that even got close to what I really wanted to show you.

Holmes’ room is messy and dark and layered beyond belief.  It’s like a Miles Redd crack den/science lab.

Watson’s room is white and neat with fabulous cabinetry.

The bad guy is into magic, and with his magic comes a lot of fabulous symbols and art.  Check out the sunburst behind him.

I admit to the total crappiness of these images.  They don’t do justice at all.  Every detail is fantastic from the sets to the wardrobe.  Oddly, I was most impressed with the tiny details and least impressed with the big deal special effects.  There was plenty to bowl me over though.

I won’t go on and on until I can find more images.  But if you go see the movie, keep your eye out for a fabulous copper bathtub, awesome mosaic flooring, a super duper nailheaded/black leather coffin, and an animal skin rug that I remember as leopard, but saw written up as tiger.  Hm.

If you’d like to read more about the set design, check out this article.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Daniel Cook said, on January 5, 2010 at 1:21 pm

    We offer the Copper Tub used in the movie, please see our Copper section, the bathtub used was a Copper Bateau which had been polished inside and out. We also custom made the tiny Sabot tub used in ‘The Holiday’ another Jude Law film. I hope this helps you and your readers.


Leave a Reply

