The Blog at Lauren Corbyn Interiors

From Ad to Room

Posted in Bloggity by laurencorbyn on April 6, 2010

Saw this ad in Harper’s Bazaar this weekend.  I LOVE it.  Anyone looking for a photo to take to your make up artist for a wedding day look: here it is.  Soft, subtle, natural-plus.   “Natural-plus”  I like that! That’s my look.

When I first talk to potential clients, I encourage them to gather inspiration.  I try to explain that inspiration can come from anything: a vacation spot, a hotel, a concert poster, flower arrangement…  a Chanel ad…  Sometimes this is a concept that is lost on “non-creatives” (for lack of a better term).  I promise though, if you show me an image that you love, I can find inspiration for a room.  It doesn’t have to be a picture of a room or furniture, though that is helpful too of course.

IMMEDIATELY when I thought of turning this ad into a room, I thought of the fabulous Jonathan Berger designed Brooklyn townhouse featured in House Beautiful.  I loved this feminine, fun, space the moment I saw it.  I’m telling you, I am getting SO much girlier as I get older!

I mean, the shot of pink with all the black and white is perfect.  And note the fabulously glossy steps, much like the fabulously glossy lipstick case and the touch of brass on the desk matched to the brassy golden part of the lipstick case.  These are things that work!

I feel like this image really hits home with the inspiration.  Touch of pink (more subtle than the image above) plus the natural flooring and the light flooded room.  It’s classic and current at once, much like the ad.

Below are more images from the “flirty” Brooklyn townhouse.  I think it’s such a great example of tradition with a twist.

It’s almost shocking that this next one is in the same house!  So much calmer with a more organic feeling to it than the other rooms.

Love that Portuguese needlepoint carpet!

So obviously, the ad was just a jumping off point to find some more inspiration.  I think it’s a great way to work.  It’s how I work with clients, talking through images to make sure we’re all speaking the same language.  If someone gives me a Chanel makeup ad as inspiration, I’d gather images and samples that seem to speak to what’s happening in the ad.  I’d go over what I found with my client until something stands out as fabulous to them, and work from there building on the inspirations till we have something original and suited perfectly to the client.

So if I ask you, as a client, to pull images of things you love, don’t hesitate!  It works!

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. katie o. said, on April 9, 2010 at 4:49 pm

    isn’t it lovely what a touch of pink (and pale blue) can do for a room? the images from the brooklyn townhome have seriously made me giddy. i feel a sudden urge to add pinks to my home!


Leave a Reply

